Diocese of LaCrosse



The Diocese of La Crosse was created in 1868. Before that, it had been part of the Archdiocese of Milwaukee (created in 1843). The new Diocese of La Crosse consisted of all Wisconsin land between the Mississippi and Wisconsin Rivers. The Catholic population numbered 30,000, which were ministered to by only 18 priests.

In 1905, the Diocese of Superior was created, and all land north of Pierce, Dunn, Chippewa, Clark and Marathon counties was assigned to the Diocese of Superior. The La Crosse Diocese, however, gained Grant, Iowa, and Lafayette counties to the south. In 1948, with the creation of the Diocese of Madison, those three southernmost counties were given away.

That left the Diocese of La Crosse as it is today- 15,078 square miles consisting of 19 counties: Adams, Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Crawford, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Marathon, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Portage, Richland, Trempealeau, Vernon and Wood counties.

Total Population	849,626	Consecrated Virgins	3
Catholic Population	196,246	High Schools	7
Parishes	165	Enrollment	1,565
Diocesan Priests	166	Elementary Schools	63
Brothers	4	Enrollment	7,138
Sisters	393	Seminarians	28
Hermits	5		

BISHOPS WHO HAVE SERVED THE DIOCESE OF LA CROSSE

Bishop Michael Heiss	1868-1880
Bishop Killian Flasch	1881-1891
Bishop James Schwebach	1891-1921
Bishop Alexander McGavick	1921-1948
Bishop William Griffin (Auxiliary Bishop)	1935-1945
Bishop John Treacy	1948-1965
Bishop Frederick Freking	1965-1983
Bishop John J. Paul (as Auxiliary Bishop)	1977-1983
(as Bishop)	1983-1994
Bishop Raymond L. Burke	1995-2004
Bishop Jerome E. Listecki	2005-2009
Bishop William P.Callahan	2010-

Updated June 2010